August 21, 2015

SLASHER GIRLS & MONSTER BOYS BLOG TOUR: Megan Shepherd stops by to talk about her movie inspirations behind "HIDE-AND-SEEK"!


Hey all! I have the awesomely talented Megan Shepherd on the blog today to talk about the movie inspirations behind "HIDE-AND-SEEK", her creepy contribution to this epic horror anthology!

24611587For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 
A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters 


*Author Guest Post*

The movie inspirations behind “HIDE-AND-SEEK”
By Megan Shepherd

Maybe I should be embarrassed to say this, but the first time I came across the “challenge death to a game” trope was in 1991’s Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey. It would have been classier to have come across it in the iconic Ingar Bergman film The Seventh Seal, where Death plays chess with a mortal, but Keanu Reeves wasn’t in that one, and I was nine. In Bill and Ted, they challenge the Grim Reaper to Battleship, tabletop hockey, and Twister, which was more interesting than chess, anyway.

Then a few years ago, I started to become interested by folk stories—particularly those of the Southern Appalachians where I live. Who wrote these legends I grew up with? Would it be possible to create new Appalachian legends? That’s how Crow Cullom, death’s harbinger in “Hide-and-Seek”, was born, as well as the book of Appalachian legends called A Patchwork Death. (I’m very proud whenever someone asks me if A Patchwork Death is a real book, and if they can borrow my copy, and I can tell them I made it up.) 

I also loved the premise of the Final Destination franchise, where teens have to escape death, an invisible force, instead of a more typical serial killer or monster. I wanted to do something similar but also to have my main character interact with some sort of physical opponent, and that’s where Crow Cullom came in. He’s a little bit inspired by Brandon Lee in the movie The Crow, mostly the black coat and 90’s hair. 

“Hide-and-Seek” started as an abandoned novel, which is evidence that no writing is ever wasted. I tried many different versions of the “game” in the story—a virtual reality game, cards, a board game like Jumanji or Clue come to life—but nothing ever clicked until I thought about playing hide-and-seek as a little girl in the same setting that Annie does in the story. When I had the opportunity to contribute to this anthology, I thought I’d try writing the idea as a short story instead of a novel. I’m glad I did, and that Crow Cullom and Annie are finally on a page together.


Get Your Copy Today!

No comments:

Post a Comment

I truly appreciate each and every one of your comments!